I support local farmers, but no one is helping me share it

I’m proud to support two farmers’ markets.

Ash and I have gotten to know some of the farmers by name, and enjoy having fresh vegetables on the table each night. It’s definitely a community focused event.

But why isn’t Dover or Wentworth helping me share my love for the local farmers? Here is one simple idea that each market should be doing. NOTE: I’ve seen some general stickers around town, but nothing specific.

Stickers, yes stickers
Why? Because they are easy, get put any and everywhere and they are barrier free. Everyone knows what a sticker is, and what to do with it.

Partner with a local designer and tell them you want something that looks like this:

Once printed, give them away like crazy.

Why?
Exposure. The whole local, natural, food movement is big. Visiting a market is something most people can do. It’s easy, they can brag about it to their neighbors, and like the sticker says, it’s supporting local growers.

The people visiting the market love it. Help them share their story.

AND FOR GOODNESS SAKE Dover. Why the heck does Wentworth have a sign in the middle of town and you don’t? You’re ignoring the busiest intersection in town, no wonder why your market is so small.

Make your sign 2x as big as Wentworth's.

3 responses to “I support local farmers, but no one is helping me share it

  1. This year I didn’t see any sort of buzz about the one in downtown Dover. The one Wednesday I made it a point to go (and boy was it ever hot out), there was no one there. :(

    I like the sticker idea too, btw. It might also be fun to have a QR code on a sign or something so they could scan it to share that they visited on various social sites. Also for mobile-toting visitors they should be on FB and 4sq to make sure people can perform “check-in” activities.

    However stickers reach a wider market than mobile, and they might not be measurable the way traffic to a check-in page is measurable, but there’s such value in making sure people just KNOW YOU’RE THERE that it’s a no brainer.

    • Giania, thanks so much for your comment. I’m actually heading to the market now, and yes I’ll be “checking in.”

      You made some good points, and I’ll respond when I get back.

    • Thanks for your support on the sticker. :) A qr code or some other type of interaction might be success at the markets as well. It would provide another layer for people to interact with and share. If those interactions could connect them back to a website, mission, more sharing opportunities, then I think they would see a big return.

      I spoke with Karen from seacoastlocal.org today and hopefully can pass along some ideas to her.

      Thanks for reading my post, and I’ll see you at the market,
      Doug

Leave a Reply

