The courage to take the first steps

Driving back from NH it was as if nature was giving us her blessing.

A good friend introduced me to author Paulo Coelho. Since then, his books have eased my anxiety and painted a clearer picture of why I am so drastically changing my path.

I’ve just finished “The Pilgrimage” and would like to share a prayer that spoke to me. I hope you will have a chance to read Coelho’s book and it does the same for you.

“I have walked so many miles to discover things I already knew; things that all of us know but that are so hard to accept. Is there anything harder for us, my Lord, than discovering that we can achieve the power? This pain that I feel now in my breast, that makes me sob and that frightens that poor lamb, has been felt since human beings first existed. Few can accept the burden of their own victory: most give up their dreams when they see that they can be realized. They refuse to fight the good fight because they do not know what to do with their own happiness; they are imprisoned by the things of the world. Just as I have been, who wanted to find my sword without knowing what to do with it.”

Finding the courage to take a step forward is difficult. But once you’ve taken that first step, you create momentum. As we all learned in high school physics, “an object in motion stays in motion.”

Going out and moving. How are you moving forward this week?

Leave a Reply

