Leaving Paradise

Vernal pool in the forest at camp.

Dear friends,

Ashley and I have made a big life decision over the past few weeks. I want to share it here and will continue to share my journey with you as we move forward.

Love,
Doug

It can’t tell you how much I’ve enjoyed working at camp. Ok, I can. I’ve had a ridiculously good time. It’s been magical and continues to teach me more than I could have ever imagined. Camp is the reason for who I am.

I know that sounds far-fetched, but it’s true. I started at camp in March of 2002, still a senior in high school. Through college and my young adult life, camp has instilled values that I will continue to carry with me.

With all that, it’s hard to say that this July, Ashley and I will move off camp to begin a new leg of our journey.

Why leave paradise?

The one thing camp has always provided is stability. Housing, income, friends, challenges, fun. I knew my junior year in college it’s where I wanted to be.

Because it’s offered such stability, Ashley and I never had to search within ourselves. We missed the struggles of finding ourselves, where we want to live, and our development as twenty somethings.

Leaving the nest, the nest that has been so good to us, is frightening and exciting. I’m now entering a life stage that all my college friends went through as they graduated, and I missed.

Gosh, I can’t tell you how much I’m going to miss camp. It’s my home, but don’t worry camp will continue to grow. Yes, grow. Over the past few years I’ve watched us spread our wings, take our first flight, and begin to soar. It’s been awesome and our staff will continue to make it magical.

If I can say one last thing. This isn’t goodbye.

One response to “Leaving Paradise

  1. Pingback: The search is on | dougridley

Leave a Reply

